Sierra Mist GOW Thoughts – no Dynamo =(

25 08 2008

So there was the lovely Dynamo 4-0 win against Chivas on Wednesday, followed by the ugly 3-0 defeat against the Red Bulls on Saturday. And Jeff and I have both had to work really hard the past week – so few posts. In short, the week started out good and ended crappy. So to cheer myself up, I decided to watch the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week nominees and vote, even though no Dynamo made the cut. See, I can support other players from other teams…John Thorrington (Chicago Fire): Points for going between two defenders with a nice bend around Cronin, and it was the game winning goal during Primetime. But, it was against the Galaxy (whose defense I worry even I could beat), and then he did this awkward bowing thing after to celebrate. Who does that?

Jimmy Conrad (KC Wizards): Equalizer in second minute of stoppage time against FC Dallas by the team captain with everyone pushing forward. A good goal to score, but I wouldn’t call it pretty or particularly skilled – maybe just a little desperate.

Andre Rocha (FC Dallas): 40 yards out over the heads of everybody. Not bad. 

Joe Vide (DC United): First goal of the season with only minutes remaining in the first half. A covered Emilio pokes back to Vide who, on first touch (I love first touch…) rips the ball past two defenders (one who actually jumps and turns his back towards the ball – maybe attempting to use his butt as a bat?) and over the keeper. I like it.

Mike Magee (NY Red Bulls): Painful for me to watch, but I watched it again anyways (so much for cheering myself up…). Beat Robinson on the run, drills it right over Onstad (best damn goalkeeper in the league) and past Robinson who didn’t make it into the goal to deflect when Onstad came off his line (which I hate). Not bad.

In short, I’m voting for Vide.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

